Part of the Whole: I dig for enrichment, what are you digging for?

A friend of mine sent me a short reply in response to my New Year’s blessing.

Here is all he wrote.  Just one line and a news article:

Proof that the “law of 2.5” is legit…

http://www.forbes.com/sites/kenkrogue/2013/01/01/level-5-time-management-beyond-stephen-r-covey-and-ben-franklin/4/

Now, I do not know Ken Krogue personally, but based off his article, I can add him to the list of my six friends and numerous clients that have experienced something I have been experiencing for over ten years:

The Law of 2.5.   It’s real, and it has freed me to live my life on my terms.  It has given me the discipline to do my work, and has given me the ultimate freedom: time.  Time to be with my family.  Because for me, nothing else is more important.

Here is what a senior executive said this about my past year’s experiences,

“Wow, what a resume my friend….a producer, turnaround architect, magician (or cat in a previous life with leftover lives), negotiator, author, educator and handyman!  Sad to say that you’ve done more in one year than I have in 40! Do you sleep? :-)”

So with my friend’s quiet “push”, I’d like to share something that has been an experiment of experience for the past 10 years of my life.    If it helps you, please let me know.  Share it, press it, blog it, like it.    May it enrich you life as it has enriched mine.

Henry Ward Beecher believed the first hour was the rudder of the day.  Timothy Ferriss proclaimed we should only work 4 hours a week.   In my experience, they were almost right.   Beecher gave us the When.  Ferriss gave us the How Long.   But we have been missing the What…and more importantly, the Why.

What do we do in those few hours of our day that makes all the difference in the world?  How do we do those few things differently to achieve our desired results.  We are in the age of personalization, driven by self-imposed tenets of self-improvement, getting things done and habits of highly effective people.  But where do the steps end?  How many tasks, habits and activities are really needed to get the job done?  How many successful professionals will be studied until there is a theory of productivity, effectiveness and life balance becomes unified and balanced?

A quote from a Fortune 100 sales executive, “

“Bryan, you are nowhere close to 30 years old, called on by the most successful companies in the world, with your fancy shoes and high-priced suit, and you seem to be effortlessly successful. I am working 16 hours a day, trying to start two businesses, not seeing my wife, missing my children and I am spent!

I need what you got.

PLEASE tell me what you are doing!? And if it’s what’s in this seminar, than I will act on every word like gospel.”

I was facilitating a seminar outside San Francisco.  It was 2005.

…and that is where the Law of 2.5 began.

Let’s get back to the story.

I hid my nerves somewhere in my stomach when the man’s face, filling with bellowed emotion stood in my way as I attempted to re-enter the auditorium to continue my seminar.  He was resolute.  It was the first time a business leader 20 years my senior physically forced me from entering my seminar room because he was determined to get the answers to the two questions that were burning inside him.    He left a lasting impression.

We talked privately near the side-stage at every break, where this man’s sheer determination inspired me to share more of my personal ideas.

We spent two hours after the seminar talking, and I left energized with a spirit of service that I have never felt before.  I’m a consultant.  I’m paid to fix things, cause trouble, and make an impact.   Not to give my ideas freely.  I was humbled when I realized he had given me so much more–by sharing with me his struggles and seeing how my ideas could help.

That conversation was in the San Jose headquarters of Cisco Systems.

In October of the following year I went public.  I was invited to a private retreat for business leaders held on the coast of California.  At the time I called my findings The Rule of 2.5.    But throughout the weekend my new stewards of the Rule habitually call it the Law of 2.5.

I pulled out one of the thank you notes written by one of the attendees, a successful mortgage broker, “I just wanted to say thanks for the incredible Wisdom of 2.5. I’ve begun to implement it in my professional life this week and it’s transforming my day!”   This man still has my notes from that seminar seven years later.

I am finally at my desk to organize my experiences into a fictional short story that shows you three highly leveraged activities of adding value to your work and your life.  A structured period of your day that will improve your relationship with others, increase your confidence and of peace of mind and improve the quality of your thinking.

Bottomline: self-help isn’t a business process.  It’s a human experience.   It’s time we started treating it for what it is.   It’s time to lean into the discomfort.   It’s time to start helping yourself.  It’s time to live the Law of 2.5.

I hope you will join me for the experience.   I look forward to hearing from you on what your most influential time/life management authors/thinkers/leaders are and how they have effected your life.  Leave a comment and let me know.

I’m off to work.

Leave a Reply

