SOHO International Film Festival – Why it Matters

I always look for a great story. One that gets me laughing out of my chair, or keeps me grasping on the page…furiously pushing through to the end. The kinds of stories I like…I hope you like.

I had the opportunity to read a wonderful script on Tuesday that Tom Hanks had given notes on–a story so funny and enjoyable that I made a note on page 34 that I’ve never made before.  I wrote, “I fell in love right here.” –and I drew a line across the page.

So far, I have been blessed with great stories that have found me. I haven’t had to go looking. Junction, which most of you know, found me. Trust Me, I’m a Lifeguard also found me. And the other two projects I am working on this year also found me.

Now, I can speculate that this is because Siri (yes, the voice of the iPhone) is following me on Twitter and she is secretly planting messages on your phone and email to call me when you have a great idea.  Or perhaps it’s because I was quoted in a major newspaper and one of those 1.5 million readers had my phone number and pitched me a story. (Thank you, Baltimore Sun.) But no.

That would be just another story.

You see, these stories found me because I am surrounded by talented, industrious and passionate people. People I love–that are my friends. No magic trick required, no advanced degree in particle physics or an MFA from Julliard. (I’m not knocking it either Harris, Taylor, Stephen and all my alumnus friends!).

It turns out that these people happen to be artists, actors, writers, composers, directors, producers, mechanics, electricians, foodies, bankers, inventors, entrepreneurs, corporate executives, investors, and captains of industry.  I have a friend who is partnering with NASA on the use and development of transparent flat screen televisions.  Another who is selling a new advanced motor design to the oil and gas industry that will change the way crude oil is pumped to the surface of the earth.  And another who is creating disruptive technology to compete with Google.

So what does NASA, crude oil and the people I love have to do with SOHO?

Everything.

First: SOHO is a top film festival.  It is ranked by MovieMaker Magazine and it brings out the stars!  I’ve hit my quota for name dropping, so look to their press (Get Googling!) to see all of the amazing people coming out to celebrate #SIFF2014 this year.  It also welcomed Junction last year…so we are kindred spirits.

Second: Do your research.  You’ll be surprised how many movies have walked away from SOHO with not just an award, but with distribution.

Finally:  Everyone I described, above, has been involved with movie making– from the foodie to the mechanic.  And there is one thing that they have done which I have emulated…and that is simply being around them.  They are some of the most fun, dynamic and interesting people–and they are never short on ideas…or opportunities.

So come out to SOHO International Film Festival to celebrate Trust Me, I’m a Lifeguard; The Story of Milo and Annie; My Cross to Bear, Tiger Liley Road, and Tammy.  There will be no shortage of talented, industrious, and passionate people.  Whether you are an actor, writer, looking to contribute your skills or cash, or just a big fan…

I will be there.  So should you.

Leave a Reply

